Go to the Russian text Site's map Home page Our awards E-mail Guest book Palace Park History Information School of arts Development programs Our friends Image gallery




PALACE  


The Pavlovsk Palace
  The Palace Rooms»
Collections
The Interior museum
Restoration





The Palace Rooms:

Wherever you see this symbol: , you can click on it to get a 360-degree image. You need the plug-in QuickTime. It is free. If you wish to download this programme, please consult Help page.

THE LIBRARY OF MARIA FEODOROVNA

The Library of Maria Feodorovna (336 Kb)

The Library of Maria FeodorovnaThe Library of Maria Feodorovna was originally based on a project by Vincenzo Brenna and completed sometime around 1793. The decor of the room was much altered by Andrei Voronikhin in 1803 and 1804, though he did retain Brenna's composition as his basis. The library almost exactly repeats the form of the Carpet Study and it too was decorated with three large tapestries, a present from King Louis XVI. The interior was designed by Brenna for these specific carpets. Two of the gobelins hang today in their original places - Jupiter and Juno (Gobelin RoyaI Manufactory, France, 1770s).

The Library of Maria FeodorovnaThe third original gobelin was based on themes of the pastorales of Francois Boucher with two medallions, part of the series of gobelins in the Carpet Study (sold with them). Its place is now taken by the gobelin Don Quixote Conversing with a Charmed Head (Gobelin Royal Manufactory, France, after a cartoon by Charles Coypel), which is of the same origin as Ladies Serving Don Quixote in the Carpet Study. Despite the similarity of the general composition with that of the Carpet Study, this room is basically a library. All the walls are lined with low bookcases. The marble sculptures on them have stood here ever since the late eighteenth century. The statues depict Apollo and the Nine Muses, based on ancient works. They seem to have been made in Rome in the late 1780s by J.H. Dannecker, the court sculptor of the Duke of Wurttemberg. Two other sculptures stand opposite one another on the bookshelves. These were presented to Pavel and Maria by King Victor Amadeus III of Sardinia in 1782, during their visit to Turin. One of them - Pluto Abducting Proserpina (Collini brothers, Italy, 1781) - is preserved in its original. On its base is the inscripion: PAR LES FRERES COLLINI DE TURIN SCULPTEURS DU ROI DE SARDAIGNE FAITE A TURIN L'AN 1781 MARBRE DE CARRARA. The second sculpture, Vestalia, was made by the same masters but vanished during the war. After the war its place was taken by the ancient sculpture Muse at a Cliff, repeating the composition of the famous ancient statue, usually considered a representation of Polyhymnia, Muse of Rhetoric.

From the 1790s onwards, a large writing desk (David Roengten, Germany, 1784) stood at the circular wall. In 1805 it was joined by a chair with jardineres mounted into its back (Russia, early 19th century). After the fire of 1803, the entire suite of Louis XVI gilt furniture was replaced by a new suite in the Empire style painted in imitation of ancient dark bronze (destroyed during the war).

The windows were originally hung with light-green ("celadon") curtains with a border woven with various flowers (Lyons, 1780s). The curtains survived the fire of 1803. A chandelier in the shape of a crystal basket on bronze chains (Russia, early 19th century) was hung on 17 December 1806 in place of the original bronze chandelier of six candles. Here, for the first time in the palace, is an example of a patterned parquet floor made from rare multi-coloured species of wood. The rooms of the central building originally all had such floors, only to be destroyed in the fire of 1803. Neither the designs nor the illustrative blue-prints have survived. When the palace was being restored in 1803 and 1804, panel oak parquet floors were laid everywhere. During the post-war restoration in this century, the four rooms of the state enfilade of Maria Feodorovna were laid with parquetry made circa 1780 after a design by the architect Yury Felten. Felten had originally designed them for the Lanskoi house on Palace Square and they were consequently removed by Catherine to her favourite's quarters in the Grand Palace at Tsarskoe Selo.


«BackForward»




© Pavlovsk, 1999-2006

Навигация по сайту Дворец Парк История Информация Выставки Наши друзья Школа искусств Программа развития Галерея образов (фотогалерея) Цифровая коллекция Виртуальная экскурсия




ДВОРЕЦ  


Павловский дворец
  По залам дворца»
Коллекции
Музей интерьера
Новые поступления
Реставрация
Каталог утрат





Предлагаем вам виртуальную экскурсию по залам дворца. Вы можете просто следовать за эксрурсоводом, нажимая кнопку "Вперед" или сами выбрать из списка интересующий вас зал.

Если вы увидите символ - вы можете щелкнуть по нему левой кнопкой мыши и получить панорамное изображение зала (круговой обзор). Для просмотра вам потребуется просмоторщик QuickTime (справка), распространяемый бесплатно.

БИБЛИОТЕКА МАРИИ ФЕДОРОВНЫ

Библиотека Марии Федоровны - панорамное изображение (336 Кб)

Библиотека Марии ФедоровныЗал был первоначально выполнен по проекту В. Бренны и закончен около 1793 года. Декор зала существенно изменил А. Воронихин в 1803-1804 годах, сохранив, однако, в основе бренновскую композицию. Зал почти полностью повторяет форму Коврового кабинета и также был украшен тремя большими настенными коврами, подаренными Людовиком XVI. Комната спроектирована Бренной под конкретные ковры. Два гобелена и сейчас на своих первоначальных местах - это "Юпитер" и "Юнона" (Франция, Гобеленовая мануфактура, по картонам К. Одрана, 1770-е гг.).

Библиотека Марии ФедоровныТретьим первоначально был гобелен на темы пасторалей Ф. Буше с двумя медальонами, входившими в ту же серию, что и гобелены Коврового кабинета (продан вместе с ними). Сейчас он заменен гобеленом "Дон Кихот разговаривает с очарованной головой" (Франция, Гобеленовая мануфактура, мастер Козетт, по картону Ш. Куапеля) того же происхождения, что и "Дамы служат Дон Кихоту" в Ковровом кабинете (находится здесь временно). В отличие от Коврового кабинета при сходстве обшей композиции это именно библиотека. Вдоль всех стен размещены низенькие шкафы для книг. Мраморная скульптура на них заняла свои места. Уже с конца XVIII века. Это в первую очередь статуи Аполлона и девяти муз, созданные по образцу античных произведений. Они, очевидно, сделаны в Риме в конце 1780-х годов И. -Х. Даннекером, придворным скульптором герцога Вюртембергского. Кроме них на шкафах одна против другой находились две скульптуры, подаренные графу и графине Северным королем Сардинии Виктором Амадеусом III в 1782 году во время их пребывания в Турине. Одна из них, "Плутон, похищающий Прозерпину", сохранилась на своем месте (Италия, братья Коллини, 1781 г.). На основании скульптуры надпись: "PAR LES FRERES COLLINI DE TURIN SCULPTEURS DU ROI DE SARDAIGNE FAITE A TURIN L'AN 1781 MARBRE DE CARRARA". Вторая скульптура - "Весталка", работы тех же мастеров, исчезла в годы войны. После войны здесь же помещена античная скульптура "Муза у скалы", повторяющая композицию знаменитой античной статуи, обычно считающейся изображением музы Полигимнии.

У скругленной стены с 1790-х годов стоит большой письменный стол (Германия, А. Ренгтен, 1784 г.) и рядом с ним с 1805 года - кресло с жардиньерками, вмонтированными в спинку (Россия, начало XIX в.). После пожара 1803 года вся золоченая мебель в стиле Людовика XVI была заменена новой - в стиле ампир, выкрашенной под античную темную бронзу (погибла в годы войны).

На окнах первоначально были светло-зеленые ("селадоновые") занавески с бордюром, вытканным различными цветами (Лион, 1780-е гг.), спасенные при пожаре 1803 года. Вместо первоначальной бронзовой люстры на шесть свечей 17 декабря 1806 года была повешена люстра в виде хрустальной корзины на бронзовых цепях (Россия, начало XIX в.). В этом зале мы впервые во дворце видим наборные паркеты из дорогих разноцветных пород дерева. Первоначально они были во всех залах центрального корпуса, но погибли в пожаре 1803 года. Не сохранилось ни их проектов, ни фиксационных чертежей. При восстановлении дворца в 1803-1804 годах везде был положен шитовой дубовый паркет. Во время послевоенной реставрации в четырех залах парадной анфилады Марии Федоровны положен паркет, сделанный около 1780 года по проекту архитектора Ю. Фельтена для дома Ланского на Дворцовой площади и впоследствии перенесенный в фаворитские покои Большого Царскосельского дворца.


«НазадВперед»




© Pavlovsk, 1999-2006